Types of Software Testing – N

Negative Testing:

Testing aimed at showing software does not work and known as “test to fail” or “attitude to break”. These are functional and non-functional tests that are intended to break the software by entering incorrect data like incorrect date, time or string or upload binary file when text files expected or enter huge text string for input fields etc.

N+1 Testing:

This is a variation of Regression Testing. Testing conducted with multiple cycles in which errors found in test cycle N are resolved and the solution is retested in test cycle N+1. The cycles are typically
repeated until the solution reaches a steady state and there are no errors. See also Regression Testing.

Non-Functional Testing:

This section is based upon the testing of the application from its non-functional attributes. Non-functional testing of Software involves testing the Software from the requirements which are non-functional in nature related but important a well such as performance, security, user interface etc.

Some of the important and commonly used non-functional testing types are mentioned as follows:

  • 508 Compliance Testing
  • Baseline Testing
  • Compatibility Testing
  • Compliance Testing
  • Documentation Testing
  • Endurance Testing
  • Load Testing
  • Localization (L10N) Testing
  • Globalization (G11N) Testing
  • Internationalization (I18N) Testing
  • Performance Testing
  • Recovery Testing
  • Reliability Testing
  • Resilience Testing
  • Security Testing
  • Scalability Testing
  • Stress Testing
  • Usability Testing
  • Volume Testing


Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: